Tamagawajosui Scenic Road

HOME > SEARCH SIGHTSEEING SPOTS > Tamagawajosui Scenic Road

Main content starts here.

This scenic road was built alongside the Tamagawajosui (Tama River water supply channel). When wells and streams could no longer meet old Edo’s demand for drinking water due to an increased population, the Edo shogunate devised a plan to bring in water from the Tama River. The water supply channel is said to have been completed in 1653 by the brothers Shoemon and Seiemon Tama, and it has been known as the Tama River water supply channel ever since.

The channel runs 43 kilometers from its intake at Hamura on the Tama River to the Yotsuya Okido gate. As the elevation difference between those points is small, getting the water to flow well was a very difficult task. The area downstream from Miyamoto Bridge was designated as a historical and environmental preservation area by the Tokyo Metropolitan Government in 1999. Additionally, the area downstream from the Hamura water intake was designated as a national historical landmark in 2003.

Currently, the area open as the Tamajosui Scenic Road is a 23.8-kilometer area from Mure Bridge in Mitaka to Heiwa Bridge in Fussa. Visitors can also walk further upstream to get a view of what the channel was originally like.

Opened: June 1, 1981
Area: 127,761.95 m2
Main plants: Japanese red pine, storax, sawtooth oak, Japanese zelkova, konara oak, cherry (yama-zakura), Chinese evergreen oak, Japanese silver grass

Detailed information

Basic information

Address

Akishima-shi/Tachikawa-shi/Kodaira-shi/Mitaka-shi/Musashino-shi/Suginami-ku

Fussa-shi

Access

By train:- Mitaka Station on the JR Chuo Line
- Takanoyama Station on the Seibu Kokubunji Line
- Takagawa-josui Station on the Seibu Haijima Line/Tama Monorail
- Haijima Station on the JR Ome Line/Seibu Haijima Line

For

Children | Students | Groups | Couples | Families | Seniors | Seniors |

Map information

SEARCH GO TOKYO